A place to have fun with Mugen
 
PortalHomeFAQMemberlistSearchRegisterComic WIP TrackerDownloadsLog inChat
Website Navigation Help
Translate the Website
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» Happy ~Birthday~ to *** Doom ***
by animaraz Today at 9:11 pm

» [FORUM GAME] "The end of your MMV username is the beginning of another MMV username" + "one (1) line of description about the good things with that another MMV member"
by Mistah Jorge Today at 8:56 pm

» retirament for little time...
by Varia the Hunter Today at 8:21 pm

» Vs.Style DEBUTS UNKNOWN SOLDIER W.i.P
by Mazemerald Today at 7:37 pm

» Dino Crisis mugen full game released!
by nedflandeurse Today at 6:49 pm

» WHP Ryofu (Original author is shimon) greatly edited/updated by HaiJin on 2017-07-03
by nedflandeurse Today at 6:34 pm

Special Features at MMV





Chat on MMV w/ Discord


Share | 
 

 WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
volzzilla

avatar

Posts : 6571
Join date : 2012-05-02

PostSubject: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 3rd 2017, 9:17 pm

Shown off as part of MMV's 5th Birthday Party Release Event.


[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]



Early look, hope you enjoy and replies for discussion are highly appreciated Very Happy





Back to top Go down
View user profile
Darthpool

avatar

Posts : 1046
Join date : 2014-02-18
Age : 17
Location : Latveria

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 3rd 2017, 9:23 pm

Good to see some more Batman villains. Good luck, Penguin doesn't seem like the easiest to incorporate into a fighting game.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MatreroG

avatar

Posts : 185
Join date : 2014-03-09

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 3rd 2017, 9:42 pm

Looks nice. But I do not understand the helix coming out of the hat. May be I missed something in the comics?
Reminds me of Inspector Gadget:
 


Last edited by MatreroG on June 3rd 2017, 9:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
yolomate

avatar

Posts : 2914
Join date : 2013-06-17
Age : 40

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 3rd 2017, 9:43 pm

is great I wait smart palettes!!! and yes another evil man for batman!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Doom

avatar

Posts : 5154
Join date : 2014-08-22
Age : 38

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 3rd 2017, 10:30 pm


Nice progress ... yes
Keep it up guys ...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LESSARD

avatar

Posts : 853
Join date : 2016-06-19
Age : 37

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 4th 2017, 7:38 am

It looks very cool, a looooong awaited Batman foe finally come to mugen.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
NightDevil123



Posts : 209
Join date : 2012-05-30

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 4th 2017, 12:50 pm

Can't wait!!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
NamelessOnlinePlayer

avatar

Posts : 636
Join date : 2015-09-27
Age : 18
Location : Mexico City

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 4th 2017, 12:59 pm

Liking the progress so far.
Didn't think I'd see a Penguin WIP.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl_qw6J6u1OSvtQFmnEepJQ
bam77



Posts : 643
Join date : 2014-03-07
Age : 40
Location : Spain

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 4th 2017, 1:52 pm

We need a Penguin in Mugen, one of Batman's most iconic villains. Great job.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
borewood2013

avatar

Posts : 4617
Join date : 2014-08-11

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 4th 2017, 5:20 pm

Simply one (1) of the best MMV's 5th Birthday Event MUGEN WIPs man! bat
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://onedrive.live.com/?cid=7DB65F02B0BBD12E
ParaDo0x

avatar

Posts : 191
Join date : 2012-06-11
Age : 23
Location : Russia

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 4th 2017, 9:50 pm

Very nice!
Good luck with this wip!
We need more bat villians and Penguin and Two Face most wanted here!=)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JARRO77

avatar

Posts : 1137
Join date : 2012-06-01
Age : 25
Location : Italy

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 5th 2017, 1:58 am

really cool preview best of luck on him!!!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Helio

avatar

Posts : 138
Join date : 2014-06-26
Age : 33
Location : Spain

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 5th 2017, 2:40 am

It's really funny to be able of playing with this kind of characters you wouldn't see in a commercial video-game. But this is part of the greatness of Mugen, that everyone could be mugenized.
Classic comic-book villains are a must and The Penguin is one of them. Thanks for bringing him.
I think the rolling attack doesn't fit the character as he is not very athletic. I would use a sliding penguin (animal) helper instead.
Great work.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
asterione

avatar

Posts : 49
Join date : 2012-06-07

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 5th 2017, 2:42 pm

Thank you all for your feedback

@MatreroG wrote:
Looks nice. But I do not understand the helix coming out of the hat. May be I missed something in the comics?

I'm the one to be blamed for that. You're right, it is a bit out of character (more close to the Mad Hatter or Inspector Gadget, than the Penguin).

In principle the penguin had the helix coming out from the umbrella, not the hat. The natural thing to do was to have him rise the umbrella, wait from the helix to come out, and have him fly. However, the Penguin already used the umbrella to hit and to guard, and consequenlty programming air hits/guards in which the umbrella was already used to fly would have been a mess.

For this reason I decided to go for a slightly "out of character" option, which was more feasable to code.

@Helio wrote:
I think the rolling attack doesn't fit the character as he is not very athletic. I would use a sliding penguin (animal) helper instead.

Personally I think that the roll is a funny move for a character which is small and already roundish. Anyway, it was also the only special we could think of that was not a helper or a projectile (just to add a bit of variation in the moves).

Anyway, don't worry... many penguin-based helpers will be avalable (volzzilla did a excellent work on those).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MatreroG

avatar

Posts : 185
Join date : 2014-03-09

PostSubject: Re: WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview   June 5th 2017, 9:55 pm

I understand, it's a creative license you took on the character. Sounds good to me, may be you could add some funky or caricature special and hyper moves. I think the "Rolling attack" and the "Helix hat jump" fit with this type of characteristics.
Hope to see more of this char soon. Good luck.


Last edited by MatreroG on June 5th 2017, 10:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
WIP Reveal: Penguin by Shining, asterione & volzzilla w/video preview
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The Mugen Multiverse :: Mugen :: Projects-
Jump to: